Welcome Guest!  [Log In]  [Sign Up]

Diplomaticcorp: Info


 

Quick Stats:





Forum Topics:


Community
Variants
Open Games
Light Brigade
Help & Suggestions
Lost Posts
Live!


 

Diplomaticcorp House Rules


    Administration
  1. Games are governed by the 5th Ed. Diplomacy Rules, ©2008 Wizards of the Coast.
  2. The GM decides if a game is to be run by his/her own house rules or the Default DC House Rules. If any GM rules are used, they replace these House Rules in their entirety unless clearly stated that the GM rules are in addition to the Default DC House Rules.
  3. GM Impersonation is strictly off-limits. Any attempt to forge a GM email or communication will be cause for immediate removal from the game.
  4. If two players know each other in real life circumstances in the same game, they need to inform the GM. You should expect that this information will not neccessarily be kept secret.
  5. The GM has the final say on all matters relating to the game, whether they are covered in the rules or not. Any questions or disputes should be raised to the GM of the game first and then only if the player is still unhappy, the GM or player can ask the moderators for their opinion on the matter.
    Moves
  1. It is a player’s responsibility to submit correct moves to the GM by the deadline. It is strongly advisable that a player labels their moves with the DC number, version number and correct season. Eg. dc 159 Turkey Spring 1901 version 1.
  2. The GM is not obligated to check moves for correctness or send out a reminder to submit moves. A GM having sent out a reminder for one turn does not mean reminders will necessarily be sent on future turns, nor does a GM advising of a mistake or misorder one time mean he will check orders on later turns.
  3. Orders will be accepted by the GM until the start of adjudication.
  4. The GM will accept all reasonable abbreviations. However if an order is unclear and not clarified by the deadline, the order will be declared void and the unit will hold. Abbreviations that could be applied to more than one space on the map (such as NOR and LIV) should be avoided. EG Lvp or Liverpool for Liverpool and Lvn or Livonia for Livonia.
  5. The designation of A or F in orders is to remind players of their pieces. If you leave out the unit type in an order, the order is still valid since only one unit can occupy any province. Even an incorrect designation of A of F will not cause an otherwise valid order to fail.
  6. In the situation where a unit has been ordered more than once in a set of moves, then the first order will be deemed to be the VALID and overriding order (additional orders for the same unit will be ignored). In the situation where a city has been ordered for multiple builds, the first build order will be deemed valid and overriding (additional orders for a unit in the same province will be ignored).
  7. Moving to and from provinces with multiple coasts.
    • When a unit is moving FROM (or giving support from... or disbanding a unit in...) a province with multiple coasts, the coast need not be specified. Therefore a fleet moving FROM say, Spain(sc) may be ordered from Spa or from Spa(sc) equally.
    • When a unit is moving TO a province with multiple coasts, and movement is only possible to 1 coast, the coast need not (but may) be specified.
    • When a unit is moving TO a province with multiple coasts, and movement is possible to either (or any) coast, the coast must be specified, or the order will fail.
    • Some maps have some powers' home centers on multi-coast provinces. In those cases if ordering a fleet build in a province with multiple coasts, the coast must be specified, or the build order will fail.
    • When supporting a unit that is in a multi-coast province, you do not need to specify the coast of the unit being supported. Remember support is given for a province as a whole, not a particular unit type or coast. If a wrong coast is explicitly stated, the support order is still valid, since support is given for a territory as a whole, NOT the unit on the coast.
  8. Paradoxical Situations: Any paradoxical situations will result in all affected orders failing.
    No Moves Received (NMRS) and Civil Disorders (CDs)
  1. If a player has not submitted moves to a GM by the time an adjudication is run, they will receive an NMR.
    • On a Spring or Fall turn, a NMR means that all units for that player HOLD however dislodged units are not disbanded (for an NMR, this is different for a CD – the next point).
    • On a Summer or Autumn turn, an NMR(NRR) would mean the dislodged unit is disbanded.
    • On a Winter turn an NMR (NBR/NDR) would mean that if the player was building - the builds would be waived and if the player was disbanding, units would be disbanded under the following rules
      1. Units furthest from the nearest home center before units closer to the nearest home center
      2. Units not in a center before units in a center
      3. Fleets before armies if still no unique unit selected per above
      4. Alphabetical
  2. For Dc Statistics, If a player NMR'd in Spring/Summer they would record 1 NMR. If a player NMR'd in Fall/Autumn/Winter they would record 1 NMR.
  3. If a player NMRs for 2 consecutive major seasons (Spring or Fall), the country is placed in Civil Disorder (CD). Countries in Civil Disorder will have all their units hold. Units will disband if dislodged and no extra units will be built. The GM may choose to remove the player from the game and seek a replacement or just leave the country in Civil Disorder.
  4. If a player is about to NMR for a second consecutive major season by having no moves in by the deadline, the GM may opt to preemptively replace the player before posting the results and replay the turn with the replacement player.
    Adjudications
  1. The GM will email a map and a copy of the adjudication to the players and the game forum. They will also update the relevant game page at www.diplomaticcorp.com
  2. Any errors in adjudications must be brought to the attention of the GM before the next major deadline (Spring, Fall, Winter) else that error will stand.
    End-Game Proposals
  1. There are only 3 suitable end game proposals that are accepted in a DC game
    • DIAS.- This is a Draw Including All Survivors. It means any player with a SC remaining in their control shares in the draw.
    • DRAW – This would be a shared draw for any named countries (eg DRAW England-Germany). Any country not named does not include in the draw.
    • CONCESSION – This is a concession that ONE named country will win the game. If this proposal passes the named country/player will be credited with a solo.
  2. End Game Proposals can be proposed to the GM either publicly (in a group email) or privately to the GM. The deadline for voting will be the same as the next spring or fall orders. Submitting revised orders without a vote will not negate a vote submitted on a separate email – once a vote is submitted, players must proactively change it or it will be counted. Only players who are in control of 1 or more suppply centers for the upcoming vote deadline are eligible to vote. An affirmative vote of YES by all eligible players will result in the EGP passing, and the end of the game – the spring / fall unit orders will not be revealed, and the game is over. If an ‘active’ player in control of 1 or more supply centers does not submit a vote, their vote will be considered a NO and result in the failure of the EGP. All ‘active’ players must vote YES for an end game proposal to pass. A player’s vote is confidential and will not be divulged at anytime by the GM including during or after the game is finished.
  3. If multiple proposals all pass unanimously in the same turn, preference will be given in the following order:
    • Draws including more players will take precedence over draws including fewer players.
    • If multiple draws containing the same number of players pass, they will take precedence in the order listed in the GM proposal, from top down.
  4. At no time can an eliminated player be part of a draw or have a vote in a draw. Only active players can vote in a any draw proposal.
  5. If a game appears to be stalemated, the GM may choose to declare the game a DIAS if there appears to be no substantial change to the board dynamics for 4 consecutive turns (2 years). This rule is most likely to apply where some power(s) have demonstrated a stalemate line that cannot be broken given a fixed set of defensive orders. If the No Substantial Change rule is to be invoked, the GM will notify the players after the 2nd season (1 year in) of effect, allowing them at least one full year to consider the implications of a potential stalemate. Any declared stalemate will be a DIAS where all players in control of at least 1 supply center will share equally in a draw. Some things that may break a stalemate are:
    • The capture of a supply center
    • Dislodging a unit
    • Player request, with explanation of why the game is not stalemated
    Press
  1. Press can be sent to the GM or to the appropriate Dc forum (dcxx@diplomaticcorp.com). Press can be WHITE. (ie the country who sent the press will be acknowledged) or GREY (anonymous press).
    Proxies and Temporary Stand-Ins
  1. In-game proxies of moves are not allowed.
  2. A player may seek a temporary replacement of themselves by another player (who is not a current or past player) to cover any periods of vacation or absence.


Diplomacy games may contain lying, stabbing, or deliberately deceiving communications that may not be suitable for and may pose a hazard to young children, gullible adults, and small farm animals.

Powered by Fuzzy Logic 

Visitor number 48772. Thank you for stopping by!